Jeromita Linares (Guastavino) - performed by Pablo González Jazey, guitar

Jeromita Linares No. 6 de Las Presencias by Carlos Guastavino

I. Allegretto amabile
II. Molto sostenuto
III. Tempo I

Guitar solo with string orchestra or string quartet

"Jeromita Linares is the sixth of the Presencias, named after an old Spanish lady, a neighbor of Guastavino when he lived in his native, quiet and peaceful Santa Fe. She lived in a very modest rancho, surrounded by poultry and by plants and flowers which grew in old oil cans; as a child Guastavino used to go there to buy eggs. The title of his work in no way implies a portrayal of her character; Guastavino simply loved the phonetic sound of the word ‘Jeromita’—and no doubt retained fond memories of this lady of his childhood. The work was written as a quintet and it achieves a skilful balance between the guitar and the string quartet. It is in one continuous movement, with a slower section at its heart, and, like so much of Guastavino’s music, is entirely enjoyable without the benefit’ of analysis." ---from John Duarte's liner notes to Carlos Guastavino—Guitar and chamber music

Click here to return to Pablo González Jazey website

About Carlos Guastavino

The music of Carlos Guastavino, Argentinian composer born in 1912 and known as the “Schubert of the Pampas”, is known for its simple yet intense melodies, perfectly depicting the atmospheres and landscapes of his country. 

His musical style was heavily influenced by Romanticism and, unlike Alberto Ginastera, he always stayed away from the avant-guarde movement: Guastavino built his own success by creating a form of national music filtered through the music language of the XIX century, becoming a model for the generation of folk and traditional music of the 1960s. 

About Pablo González Jazey

Argentine concert guitarist, composer and arranger Pablo González Jazey has become one of the most recognized musicians and guitarists in the country. A versatile performer, he has performed in Argentina, France, Italy, Germany, Brazil and the United States of America in the major guitar repertoire, including: Joaquin Rodrigo's Concierto de Aranjuez and Fantasía de un Gentilhombre, Concierto en Re Op. 99 by Mario Castelnuovo Tedesco, Astor Piazzolla's Concierto para bandoneon, guitarra y orquesta, Eduardo Falú’s Suite Argentina and concertos for guitar and orchestra by Antonio Lauro and by Eduardo Alonso-Crespo. 

Pablo González Jazey attended the School of Musical Arts of the National University of Tucumán, where he graduated as a Guitar Professor and earned the Master of Music in Guitar Performance degree at the Boston Conservatory at Berklee, Massachusetts. The teachers with whom he has studied include: Jose Luis Conde, Dolores Costoyas, Irma Costanzo, Victor Villadangos, Sharon Isbin, Pepe Romero, Hopkinson Smith and Eduardo Isaac, among others 

As a teacher, he has taught numerous master classes in conservatories and universities in Argentina, the United States and France. He is currently a guitar professor at the "Manuel de Falla" Conservatory in the City of Buenos Aires.

Contact for Bookings